Translating Ancient Greek Drama in Europe 1600-1750

11 December 2020 - Online Conference 

 

Supported by: Sorbonne Paris Nord, Université Grenoble Alpes, the Archive of Performances of Greek and Roman Drama (Oxford), and University College London

 

Organised by: Malika Bastin-Hammou (Grenoble Alpes), Giovanna Di Martino (UCL), Cécile Dudouyt (Sorbonne Paris Nord)

 

Panel 1 - First Vernacular Translations of Aristophanes

10.00-11.15 Paris time / 9.00-10.15 London time 

Discussant: Fiona Macintosh (Oxford)

  • Malika Bastin-Hammou (Université Grenoble Alpes) L’Aristophane français du bénédictin Dom Lobineau. À propos d’un manuscrit méconnu (c. 1700)

  • Simone Beta (Siena) Traduire Aristophane à Sienne. Le Ploutos et Les Nuées de Giovan Battista Terucci (ou de Giuseppe Fabiani ?)

  • Stuart Gillespie (Glasgow) James White’s Aristophanes

 

(15 mn Break) 

 

Panel 2 – Neo-Latin Sophocles 

11.30-12.30 Paris time / 10.30-11.30 London time 

Discussant: Victoria Moul (UCL) 

  • Thomas Baier (Würzburg) Eighteenth-Century Translations of Euripides by Lodewijk Caspar Valckenaer 

  • Cressida Ryan (Oxford) Seventeenth-Century Latin Sophocles: Not a Lingua Franca

 

(15 mn  Break)

 

Panel 3 – Euripides in the Vernacular 

12h45-13h45 Paris time / 11.45-12.45 pm London time 

Discussant: Stuart Gillespie (Glasgow)

  • Emanuel Stelzer (Verona) The Earliest English Translations of Euripides’ Medea and Alcestis

  • Claudia Cuzzotti (Independent) Italian Translations and Adaptations of Euripides’ plays between 1600-1750

 

(One-hour Lunch Break) 

 

Panel 4 - Contemporary Criticism and (Re-)Translations

14h45-16h30 Paris time / 1.45-3.30 pm London time

Discussant: Lucy Jackson (Durham)

  • Giulia Fiore (Bologna) How to Make a Tragic Hero. Understanding Agency in Early Modern French and English Drama

  • Angelica Vedelago (Verona) The Strange Case of Sophocles and Mr May: Functionalized Reception in Thomas May’s The Tragedy of Antigone (1632)

  • Antonio Ziosi (Bologna) What a Translation Cannot Confess. The Case of Dryden and Lee’s Oedipus

  • Giovanna Casali (Bologna) “…questo si ha dalla favolosa invenzione degli antichi Poeti”. The Reception of Ancient Sources in Seventeenth- and Eighteenth-Century Opera

 

(15 mn Break)

 

Panel 5 – Translation and Reception Theory 

16h45-17h45 Paris time / 3.45-4.45 pm London time

Discussant: Claire Lechevalier (UNICAEN)

  • Giovanna Di Martino (UCL) and Cécile Dudouyt (Paris 13) Intertextuality, Performance and the Politics of Translation 

  • Estelle Baudou (APGRD), Giovanna Di Martino (UCL), and Cécile Dudouyt (Paris13) Translation in Practice Workshop 

 

Plenary 

17h45 - 18h30 Paris time / 4.45 - 5.30 pm London time

Discussant: Tiphaine Karsenti (Paris Nanterre)

  • Facebook Clean
  • Flickr Clean
This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now